So the Monday I was eating a nice dinner of salmon with (courtesy of HEB, courtesy of Gabby) alfredo fettucini and watching the Jets.  All was right with the world.  Then suddenly I got a burning sensation.  In my thoat (no typo).  I burped and figured that was the end of it.  Wrong.

Tuesday watching Teen Mom I was eating more leftover salmon and noodles and got the same sensation.  Like I was about to burp fire (I’m not gonna lie that would have been cool).  So I sent Brownlee a message to bring home some Tums.  I popped two and went to bed. 

So yesterday I avoided anything remotely close to spicy.  I had two grilled snack wraps from McDonalds and some Cocoa Puffs before I took a nap.  When I woke up at 11 in the pm and had to eat again, I went for chicken and rice.  BOOM.  The burn was back.

Then I realized what I was doing.  Everytime I feed the baby after 8pm it gives me heartburn.  I was just telling a co-worker my dilemma and she’s all “the baby’s gonna have tons of hair”.  Apparently there is some truth to it.  I read this in my weekly email weeks ago.  The same chemical/hormone/whatever that causes heartburn is also prevalent when baby’s hair is growing.  Something along those lines, don’t quote me.  But there actually is a medical correlation.  And of course co-worker was all “ooh I loved me so jalepenos and had bad heartburn.  My kid came out needing a haircut and an eyebrow wax…but she also had acid reflux the first 6 months.” Super.  I’m going to watch the spicy foods <tear> so I don’t pass on some acid reflux, but don’t get me wrong, I do love the occasional hot wing.

Also since everyone at work knows, and my shirts are steadily shrinking, I’ve been getting lots of “it’s a boy cause your stomach is pointy” or “it’s a girl cause you don’t look pregnant from the back” (how does one look pregnant from the back?), so I plan do organize a pool here at work.  I’m sure we can take bets at any subsequent baby showers as well. But here’s this week’s pic for your viewing and guessing pleasure.

 

Now I want hot wings.

